Purple Tears…

Losing a legend has been difficult because I am addicted to music. I fiend for the high that I get from a true musician and artist. In this day and age, that is hard to come by.

I’ve seen Purple Rain at least 20 times in my 31 years and 11 months on this earth. It’s a movie that never gets old, like Pretty Woman, Love Jones and The Five Heartbeats. Just like all those movies, I had never seen Purple Rain on the big screen.

Purple Rain came out the year I was born and I have heard my mother tell the story of her friend from down the street who saw the movie 26 times when it came out. Let me put this in perspective for you, I cannot even tell you what this man’s government name is because I’ve only ever known him as Purple Rain. I always thought seeing the same movie in theaters 26 times was crazy. Until tonight…

I was mesmerized and captivated by Prince’s presence. Something about seeing it on a theater screen sent shivers down my spine and thrilled me to no end. It was bittersweet because his royal highness is no longer with us but I am so very thankful that he shared his gift with us. Some people never reach their potential and end up selling their souls while trying. Prince was able to do what he loved to do, what made him happiest, what brought real joy to people and he was able to do it with integrity.

About a month ago I was so pissed and him because I was trying to find his music online to purchase and because he is so protective of his artistry… I couldn’t find anything. But then I realized that the amazing music that he has created deserves to be protected and treated with a certain level of reverence.

Sitting in a crowded theater 31 years after Purple Rain premiered in theaters and a mere 6 days after his death made me emotional. The very first chord of the title track brought a few tears to my eyes but when the film was over and nobody got up to leave, I knew that I was experiencing the magic that my parents felt 31 years ago.

The difference is that their pulses probably quickened in excitement about what greatness Prince would create. My heart rate quickened (according to my handy dandy FitBit Charge) because I know that he surpassed everything that everyone imagined he could be.

I truly feel like Prince achieved what he was put on this earth to achieve. While hr will br missed, he accomplished what God put him on earth to accomplish and he did it exquisitely. I am overjoyed to have been able to see Purple Rain in a theater and will forever respect, cherish and appreciate the creative genious that will forever be Prince Rogers Nelson.

In Loving Memory
06/07/1958-04/21/2016

Leave a Reply

